Helpful Tidbits

Structure of the National Episcopal Church Women

The Episcopal Church Women as an organization functions at four levels: National, Province, Diocese and Parish.

National

The National Board, which meets three times per year, is comprised of the President, First Vice-President, Second Vice-President, Secretary, Treasurer, Member-at-Large for Social Justice and one Representative from each of the nine provinces.

The National Board does not exercise authority or control over provincial, diocesan, or parish ECW groups, but acts as the organizational entity which binds

together the women of the church. Communication between the board members and women at all levels throughout the church helps the National Board to

fulfill their stated mission – to support all women in their ministry. Specifically, the board plans the Triennial Meeting and oversees programs such as Women to Women.

Province

The Episcopal Church is comprised of nine Provinces (see enclosed map). Although they may function differently, each Province has a President and an ECW Board.

Diocese

The Episcopal Church is comprised of 111 Dioceses. Almost all of them have an ECW or a Women's Ministries Board. Again, each is unique in its structure and function.

Parish

The number of parishes in the dioceses range from 28 to almost 200. Most parishes have active Episcopal Church Women or Women's Ministries groups.